Connect with us


Big Ben, Ward, Farrior and Battle Named Captains; Practice Squad Named

The Steelers picked their team captains on Sunday, and quarterback Ben Roethlisberger was selected by his teammates. Roethlisberger and Hines Ward were named offensive captains, James Farrior defensive captain and Arnaz Battle special teams captain.

Roethlisberger was a team captain in 2008 and 2009, but was not voted for the position a season ago amidst his offseason legal troubles. “He has done a great job of opening himself up to the team and keeping his nose clean,” Willie Colon said. “He is in a real good stable comfort place. He has taken on a leader more than a lot of us.”

The black and gold also named their eight-man practice squad in WR Tyler Grisham, RB John Clay, TE Jamie McCoy, OL Trevis Turner, OL John Malecki, DE Corbin Bryant, LB Mortty Ivy and DB Da’Mon Cromartie-Smith.

Matt Loede has been in the sports media for over 16 years, with experience covering the MLB, NBA, and NFL. On Sunday’s during football season, you can hear Matt on national networks like Fox Sports Radio, Associated Press, and others. Born and raised in Cleveland Ohio, Matt studies and talks football inside and out, and is anxious to share his thoughts and comments with readers on a daily basis.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. DrGeorge

    September 4, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    It’s good to see we got Malecki, Crosmartie-Smith, and Ivy back. I still think we’re going to miss Donovan Warren before the season’s over.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Get Your Steelers Tickets

Pittsburgh Steelers Tickets

Show Your Team Spirit

Shop the newest Pittsburgh Steelers fan gear at Fanatics!

Steelers Gab Newsletter

Sign up to receive our Steelers Gab newsletter, and keep up to date with all the latest Pittsburgh Steelers news.



Recent Comments


More in News