A sad day for Steeler Nation, as a year after Dermontti Dawson was selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, two former Steelers today were denied the honor.

The first was Kevin Greene, who played with the Steelers from 1993 through 1995. He was on the Super Bowl team that lost to Dallas in Super Bowl XXX 27-17.

Greene was best known for his punishing hits on QB’s, and he and Greg Lloyd made life tough on opposing QB’s and RB’s in his three seasons with the team.

The former Steeler didn’t make the top 15.

Who did though and didn’t advance was Jerome Bettis, otherwise known as “The Bus” Bettis missed out on the Hall for the 3rd straight season.

Bettis has an impressive resume, he is the sixth-leading rusher in NFL history with 13,662 yards. As a bruiser at running back, he put up 3.9 yards per carry.

Ravens tackle Jonathan Ogden, Dallas Cowboys guard Larry Allen, Tampa Bay Buccaneers defensive tackle tackle Warren Sapp, Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Cris Carter, longtime coach Bill Parcells and two older-era candidates, defensive tackle Curly Culp and linebacker Dave Robinson all were picked to the Hall earlier today.

photo credit: pennstatelive via photopin cc

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Tags: , , , ,